“I’ll be gone when you open your eyes”

8/14/11  7:30 AM

” Part of one’s job is to say goodbye. There comes that time when it is right and proper to let it go; otherwise you can’t move on. And so the best thing one can say is that it all ended the right way.”

                                                                                                    – Alan Rickman

If you know me at all, then the featured pic should be no surprise to you. I love Jim Halpert and I hate goodbyes. It might be sad to draw parallels between your life and a television show, but I can’t help it. I’m human, so shoot me. The “Goodbye Michael” episode this past season. ‘Nuff said.

But really, Kristi and I had a really long talk about this a few nights ago. You know, the kind you have at 3 AM after you’ve made a batch of cookies or brownies or whatever and you’re just vegetating on the couch. We talked about how weird it was for me to be gone for a year and how a year really is a very long time. Then Kristi realized, “Oh no… Who am I going to party with?!” That one really got to me. Haha.

It’s rather unnerving. I mean, look at my [incomplete] list of

Things I Have Left Undone in Gainesville:
– Getting my degree
– Having the lunch special at Fujihana
– Painting that Adventure Time mural with Marisa on the 13th street wall
– Going to Indie night at the Atlantic
– Convincing my teacher to let me play Zelda songs on Century Tower
– Giving the Bespectacled Publix Employee [BPE] at the Williston Publix a truthful answer to the question: “Is there anything else I can do for you?” ;D

And so on and so forth.

This is why I’m glad I still have a year left when I get back. I’m not ready for college to start ending yet, but the fact is that it already has. I’m past the half-way point. Annnnnnnnd okay I’m going to stop thinking about that right now.

I can’t even imagine how it must be for the people who are going abroad that graduate when they get back ._.

I’m probably making a bigger deal out of this than it actually is, but better to let it out online than be a nervous wreck in reality, right? Right.

Oh btw, if you haven’t noticed, I put up a new song on the homepage. As much as I love Alexi Murdoch’s “All My Days,” it reminds me too much of Europe and train-travel. Clara C’s cover of Rocketeer is much more… uplifiting? Haha. More appropriate for plane travel at the very least.

“Here we go. Come with me /

There’s a world out there that we should see.”

Again, if you know me at all, you would know that I am extremely. Severely. Possibly even unhealthily sentimental. Just saying it right now, I’m going to have this collage up on my desktop for a bit. This coming year I’m going to miss everyone still in Gainesville/the States. A lot. But I’m sure you all will have a kick-ass year. You’ll have to tell me about it. I’ll be on Skype, don’t be a stranger.

I spent my last night in Gainesville at the Campus Lodge Shelter for the Homeless. Or whatever they changed the name to after I left. It was odd walking past my room that wasn’t my room anymore. And all the spaces that now housed other people’s things. But it was comforting to spend the night doing what I usually do in Gainesville, getting black-out dr… sitting in the living room and having sincerely worthwhile conversations about nothing in general.

And now it’s time to play Tetris with all my crap to see if it’ll fit in my car. [No worries, I played Tetris Battle all the time in class and am now a veritable master. ::cough::] Peace, Gainesville, I’ll see you next year. And SoFla, I will see you tonight.

Leave a Reply

