“podría convertirme en polvo y perderme allí”

7/2/10   –   22:55

Every vacation needs a vacation built in. Today and tomorrow are those days. I’ll still be going around and experiencing the country, but I won’t be doing it at the cut-throat pace of yesterday and the day before. That said, I woke up this morning nice and slow… wait. I didn’t. One of my room-mates, Jack [nice guy and all], farted so loud it awakened me and his friend Lauren from our slumbers. Gotta give it to him. That’s quite a feat. But yeah. They checked out this morning as I fell back asleep. By the time I woke up for real, they were gone.

I went to the market across the street and got materials for breakfast/lunch. I sat outside my bungalow thingy and watched the laundry dry as I ate fresh mozzarella, bread, and yogurt with chocolate and hazelnut crunchies. Yum. To wash it down, I had what was left of my blood orange soda. To describe that, I’d say it’s what orange Fanta would taste like if it tasted like ass. Shopping this morning took a while. Not because of any lines or decisions I had to make. I was just taking my time strolling through the aisles trying to decipher what it was they were selling. [I already told you about my affinity for foreign supermarkets.] But yeah. I wish I had this market in Gainesville. I really want to try experimenting with these pastas, cheeses, and meats. As I left with my goods, I heard the lady at the bakery let out a “mamma mia”, and it sort of made my morning.

I set off for Ostia Antica later in the morning. Ostia Antica was Rome’s ancient port. The Tiber river used to run by it in the first century, but apparently rivers can change courses[?] so once that happened, Ostia was abandoned and buried in silt. The silt preserved it and that’s why we have the ruins today. There was all the usual stuff there. Markets, temples, columns. There were apartments and a forum. There was a restaurant. Pretty cool, but I was too distracted by the brutal heat to really get into it overmuch.

I did, however, stumble across this underground passageway in the Baths of Mithra and it had this statue in it of a guy sacrificing a … bull/goat/horse. Thing. It looked pretty awesome and it was well off the beaten path so I felt like an archaeologist. Or a grave robber.

.

I walked around some more and snapped a couple more photos. Then I took the train back to Rome and set off for the Capuchin Crypt. This is a shrine under one of the churches in northeastern Rome that has the bones of all their monks interred there. The bones are arranged in patterns and there are various rooms. The inscription in one of the rooms says “Che voi siete noi eravamo. Quello che noi siamo voi sarete.” Which translates to, “What you are, we once were. What we are, you will be.” It’s a little creepy because the quarters are cramped and you get really close to these mummies and skulls and… scapulas. But it’s a cool experience. What the hell they even have babies in there. Or really really small monks.

Afterwards, I went to the Villa Borghese gardens and just walked around there for a while, trying to escape the heat in the shade of the massive trees. But to no avail. Even with the refreshment my store-bought, not-as-good lemon gelato brought me, I was soaked through with sweat and threw in the towel, deciding to go home to my air-conditioned bungalow to nap a bit before planning out my trip to Orvieto tomorrow [and updating the blog]. Thanks and arrivederci, Roma. It’s been real, but I’ve got parts of Umbria and Tuscany to check out.

Comments
One Response to ““podría convertirme en polvo y perderme allí””
  1. Sandra says:

    This made me ferserious LOL: “What the hell they even have babies in there. Or really really small monks.”

    But anyway, this might be my favorite post… EVER (mostly because of your first paragraph). Kudos.

Leave a Reply

