“cherry cherry cherry cherry boom boom”

6/16/10   –   23:45

Schwhoa what a day. Alright, so let’s get the boring stuff out of the way first. It’s the last week of classes and things are wrapping up. I’m done with all my work and all I have to do is go to class and turn it in. I skipped film today because I could not contain my hatred for that class anymore, and instead I went souvenir shopping and what not. Okay.

That said, today was the world premiere of the film “Knight and Day” or “Noche y Día” [I guess it was too hard to translate the play on words] and as such, Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz, the stars, are here in Sevilla because the showing is at Teatro Lope de Vega. Now, this happens to be a five minute walk from where I live, so I figured… why not.

It was pretty ridiculous already by the time I got there and I had to jostle my way to the front and by front I mean 2 people between me and the barricade that separated the hoi-polloi [I’ve always wanted to use that word] and la alfombra roja. We were waiting there for quite some time and it was almost sad how everyone started to get riled up whenever a car came by. I made small talk with the two ladies getting jostled next to me and they were actually very nice. While we were waiting, also, guess what happened. Surprise… a strike. I swear those things follow me everywhere.

I had actually decided that I didn’t love Tom Cruise enough to join the orgy by the barricade to fight for an autograph. I was content being an amateur [and admittedly pretty shitty] paparazzo. The lady next to me encouraged me to go get one, though. [“Todavía existe la esperanza.”] I pointed at the camera in my hand and said I couldn’t do both at the same time and then I asked her friend who was standing in front of me if she could get the autograph for me. Suffice to say that there is now a gigantic Tom Cruise signature on my moleskine and I am pretty grateful to those ladies. I sent them a zip file with the pictures I took in exchange.

It only took an hour and a half of waiting, but I got what I wanted. Way to be in the right place at the right time, yeah? And also, on the subject of famous people, I really don’t understand how they can survive and live like that being hounded by for rlz paparazzi and rabid fans. I guess some people are just cut out for it. Kudos to them. It’s a lot harder than it looks.

Mhm. I leave on a bus to Lisbon, Portugal on Friday night. My next entry will probably be an itinerary. I’ll do it while I’m packing up so I’ll probably talk to you then.

~

Office update: Season 4 – Ep. 7

I WILL FINISH THIS YET!

♪Give me a break, give me a break, break me off a piece of that…Fan-cy-feast!♪

~

And as per Genesis’ request, here’s la firma:

Leave a Reply

