“ahora vamos por todo, y todos vamos por ellos”

6/5/10    –    22:22

Not much has been going on, really. Like I said, it’s just me in my room duking it out against the heat outside. I’ve had  lot of quality time with both American and Spanish television over the past couple of days so this entry’ll have a lot of media spin to it. Just a forewarning.

So, Copa Mundial 2010 is about to start in a handful of days and the country is gearing up. Ever since Shakira released her theme song for the World Cup, it’s been popping up on the news, commercials, and even as background music while I was shopping for a backpack earlier today. It is honestly the 北京歡迎你 of Spain right now and I’d say they’re pretty alike too. The lyrics are as encouraging as a kindergarten teacher. It’s played all over the place. And they’re catchy as all hell. Btw, I think this mascot of theirs, Zakumi, would make a great plushie. I want one. Sorta.

I’m actually excited to follow World Cup [as best I can without the necessary football knowledge skills]. I think futbol is more exciting to watch than football, imo, and people will be riled up about it all over Europe until the end of June. Speaking of futbol, Real Betis Balompié [One of Sevilla’s teams] is playing Hércules today, so says Sra. Garcia, and that’s why Pablo and Alberto aren’t gonna be back till late. We’ll see if Betis won by how Pablo and Alberto are once they do get back.

I saw the above commercial while I was eating dinner and I just thought it was hilarious. Good for you Carrefour. Give the people what they want.

And on the topic of dinner, two things. First, I don’t think they believe in salad dressing here. It’s just olive oil and vinegar, but I can deal with that. It’s actually really good and probably healthier for you. Possibly. Second, Sra. Garcia called me out on ketchup. I went into the kitchen to get the bottle from the fridge and I heard “¿Te gusta mucho el ketchup, no?” And I froze, embarrassed. Whatever. The patatas fritas were lacking in red saucy goodness. Also, the ketchup here tastes different. Not bad, but different. Like how banana ketchup tastes different from Heinz. I like them both. They just aren’t the same. Haha.

I went to the Parque de Maria Luisa yesterday morning because it was really hot in the house and i was hoping the greenery would absorb a lot of the heat. I was right, and I wasn’t the only one with that idea. Apparently it’s popular for young people to go to the park and just hang around in the fountains and little lake things. I figured it wouldn’t hurt if I just sat with my legs in the water. I did that for quite some time while reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer which I found on the shelf in my room. I read it last year, but it certainly deserved another read because it was just so well written. I would suggest it to anyone. As good as it is though, it is probably one of the most depressing books I have ever read. It was a good lazy afternoon.

Me fui de compras today and I went to El Corte Ingles to go find a backpack because my drawstring one is sort of dying on me. The Corte Ingles is HUGE and I could spend forever looking at their stuff which I sort of did. But yeah. I need to stop myself from buying stuff I don’t need. Like spanish editions of Pokemon [EDICION DIAMANTE!] I ended up not buying my bag there but rather at Plaza de Armas because I’d rather pay 4 euro than 69,90.

I finished my final powerpoint project for my communications class on the Plaza de España. Apparently they filmed part of Star Wars II: Attack of the Clones there. I found the clip on youtube. It made me lawl.

I also finished the first season of the Office and once I found out uTorrent works over here, I downloaded Glee. Bwahahahaha I’ll get caught up yet.

Chase gets back tomorrow, and then I have school for another four days. At the end of which we’re going to Granada/Nerja. I should get more exciting come then, but I’ll try to do some exploring tomorrow mornin’ for you guys in the meantime.

~ ~

Ah. And a congratulations goes out to all my Flanagan people graduating today :D Sometimes I forget that everybody’s lives just keep chugging along while I’m here. Can’t wait to see some of you guys at UF in the fall!

~ ~

23:58 ::edit::

ROFLMAO. Maybe Mr. Schuester from Glee needs to focus less on the club and more on his job. On the board he conjugated the verb estar. He was doing a good job of it too. I mean. Hey. Yo estoy. Tú estás. Ella está. Nosotros estamos. Oh wow, he even put in vosotros. Vosotros estáis. All in order.

And then he trips. And eats it. Ustedes/Ellos/ellas SON.

Bien hecho, Schuester. Way to teach those kids Spanish, lol.

Comments
4 Responses to ““ahora vamos por todo, y todos vamos por ellos””
  1. K-Mozzle says:

    You’re supposed to wait and catch up on Glee during Glee week at the lodge! >:O

    • ochancoco191 says:

      I CAN’T STOP. :O I only have up till Sectionals, though.

      So yeah. I won’t be fully caught up.

      Also, question. Can Glee week also be CORN WEEK? luls.

      • K-Mozzle says:

        I feel like if we combine those 2 weeks I might be crakny due to lack of nutrients.

        but.. Iuonno, we could try it I guess :P

  2. ochancoco191 says:

    Lol. I was jk. I know an all-corn diet and glee marathons just do not mix. We’d just spontaneously burst into song and then collapse immediately.

    I feel like Tommy would find it hilarious.

Leave a Reply

