“sunday, get up on my way”

Lazy Sunday. It’s how I like it. There won’t be too much content in this post, I took a walk around the city and had a lot of time to just take it in and think. And snap some pictures too, of course.

Spaniards take their Sundays so seriously here. I woke up at around eight and started my walk. Not one business I saw was open in Los Remedios. I’m used to Sundays being reduced hours from being in America, but here, the whole town just shuts down. It’s amazing. Just a whole bunch of old people taking walks in the morning chill before the sun beats down on everything. It was relaxing just walking.

On La Puente San Isabel II, aka the Triana Bridge, there’s a series of locks that I always see and I kept wondering what they were for. I asked someone and they said that in the past, couples used to inscribe their names on a padlock and lock it to the bridge so that it would stay with the structure forever. The city decided that it was getting unsightly with the amount of locks on the bridge so they cut them off every year, but it’s still nice because your lock will still be there for a substantial amount of time. That’s why people still do it.

This is Pedro, our resident cat. His hair gets all over my laundry. Also, like my sheets? Yeah, you know you want them. On another note, almost all the phone numbers in Sevilla begin with 954. So when I say I’m reppin’ the 954 [what what], I don’t only mean Broward, yo.

Later on in the day I met with Stephanie and Nova at the Centro Comercial to do homework and laze about. I didn’t want to walk all the way there so I tried the city’s institutionalized bicycle rental service called Sevici, and it was pretty amazing. So much faster and better than walking. Especially when it’s unbearably hot [which is almost all the time] And it’s only 5 Euro a week. Hell yeah. I got my pictures from them [making the previous post possible] and finished half of my homework before heading home for lunch. We had gazpacho [yum.] and paella con ternera y cerdo. Which is beef and pork paella. It tasted and was basically Filipino kaldereta except with more soup. Dericious. Afterwards, we were stuffed and we all took siesta. Sra. Garcia nos dijo que siesta es una costumbre con tremenda importancia en Sevilla y Andalusia in general. Apparently it came from farmworkers who needed to take a rest in the afternoon because it just got so hot during the day. “Los del norte no lo entienden.” The people in the north don’t understand siesta, she said, lol. We watched television while we ate and we talked about the stuff on the news. She’s starting to have more and more conversations with us which is awesome. We took siesta and it was pretty much one of the highlights of my day. :P

One more random note on life in Sevilla. I really enjoy their building construction here. They’re so smart. The architecture is such that the buildings are built so close together that it produces a lot of wind in the streets and there’s only an hour or two where the streets are not shaded. I also enjoy the architecture of the UIMP building [where we have school] Apparently it’s French in design and it has a central shaft and all the floors open up onto it. I think I have a picture….and here it is on the left. It’s just very open and airy. I wouldn’t mind living in a house like that.

I’m writing this portion post-dinner, sitting out on the balcony/terrace. It’s nice and cool out and dinner was delicious as usual. Such a great day.

Leave a Reply

