“and as we’re crossing border after border”

5/16/10 – 9:43 PM – Sevilla, España

The above was from the Wristcutters: A Love Story soundtrack and if you ever watched the movie [which you should], you’d know as well as I do that it’s the ultimate on-the-road song. It came up on shuffle on my ipod while we were in the bus en route to Sevilla, and it matched perfectly with the landscape passing by. Just like in the movie.

We weaved our way through the rocky cliffs and rolling hills of La Mancha onto the vast plain of Andalusía in which Sevilla is located. Simply breath-taking. Honestly, I tore my eyes away from Avatár on the bus television, popped in my iPod and just watched the mesmerizing scenery zip by.

Seeing as we were in Castilla La Mancha, home of Don Quixote, our bus driver stopped by some windmills that were made famous in Cervantes’ epic. We got a great view of the surrounding areas too. That’s what the featured pic is. Apparently, according to Spanish law, bus drivers must take breaks every hour or two in order not to get sleepy and drive dangerously. We took two breaks on our 5-6 hour journey and they made the trip more bearable actually. I remember the million hour bus rides with band from South Florida to Atlanta, and to Washington. Those would have been a little bit more bearable if we made fifteen minute stops every two hours, I think.

But yeah, couple things I noticed on the way there. – The signs started having Arabic on them. [what?]

– As energy conscious and progressive as the big cities are, they still burn garbage outside in La Mancha. Contraaaaast.

We eventually made it into Sevilla, at which point everybody suddenly got really nervous because our host families were waiting to meet us near the city center. Chase [my room mate] and I were prepared to meet our host mother there, but our host brother and his girl-friend [wife?] actually took us to our apartment in Los Remedios, right across the Guadalquivir River from el Centro, where we were. Our host brother, Alberto,  is a nice guy and he speaks alright English. He’s in his 30s, I think. Our host mother, Ana Maria,  is extremely nice and accommodating. She is in her 60s.  Her apartment is in a good neighborhood, close to everything, and walking distance from the University. She has air conditioning and WI-FI, which allows me to write you from the apartment. It’s just as fast as home, which is awesome. The apartment also has this ridiculous terrace which overlooks the street and I am just chilling here, post-dinner [which was delicious]. It reminds me of the Philippines.  We don’t use air conditioning if we don’t need to, there are corner stores [sari-sari stores] everywhere, we take siesta if need be, and I just get that vibe. I don’t understand, but it’s there.

Ana Maria only speaks Spanish so we get to practice a lot with her and she’s just so awesome. She provided us with all these books on Seville and Spain and I can’t wait to see them and plan out some of my free weekends. Alberto is super cool too. He showed us the parts of town where there are lots of

a) Americans, and

b) Bars with great deals. Free shots, free beer, etc.

Chase and I got excited, haha. We walked around before dinner to check out the place, and I feel so comfortable here. It’s pretty great so far. We’re gonna take the tourist tour of the city with Ana y Pedro tomorrow morning followed by a welcome dinner. Can. not. Wait. For now, I think I’m going to put up some stuff on a Flickr account. Then I’m headed to bed, because I think I just may be over my jetlag. :]

Buenas noches, desde SEVILLA. [Btw, the sun hasn’t set yet, and it’s 10:00. What? Also, I can hear horses in the streets. WHAT?]

Comments
2 Responses to ““and as we’re crossing border after border””
  1. gracealicious says:

    The signs started having Arabic on them.

    :o that’s interesting. although not surprising, i guess, since they were in control of spain for a while, haha.

    omggg don quixote. XD i see you, windmill giants.

  2. Doss says:

    Andalucia has heavyyyy moorish influence, so maybe that’s where the arabic is from(?). It’s beautiful there, and your pictures are making me homesick for it lol (can i use homesick? idk) haha your family there has such spanish names, lol i have relatives all by the same name yay. It prolly doesnt actually get dark till 11 there and then it starts to cool down? Can’t wait till your next post to hear more about it!

Leave a Reply

