catching up…

Aw man. So I’ve just been spending the past day or two just chillin’ out maxin’ relaxin’ all cool and what not. I’m using this time to catch up on all the stuff that I haven’t been able to do all semester because my life kept threatening to collapse on itself. Now that it’s not, it’s a nice change of pace.

All I’ve been doing is watching television/movies and playing video games. I saw Volver [interesting] and El Cachorro [interesting. In a different way] as well as My Father My Lord [not interesting]. Volver and Cachorro just made me feel awkward that I’m going to have to get used to that face-kissing thing that Spaniards [Latin people?] do when they meet each other. Hell yeah culture shock.

Oh! And I’ve been playing Final Fantasy XIII. After one full night of play, I resigned myself to the fact that I’m probably not going to finish before I leave, so I moved on to Assassin’s Creed II. While I was playing, I thought to myself: “I’m going to be able to see the places in the game with my own eyes in about a month.” [For those of you that don’t know, AC2 takes place in Florence] It’s odd that the only perceptions I have of these places are through video games, films, and textbooks. Having the opportunity to actually be there just blows my mind.

On an unrelated note, if you haven’t checked out the blog: 1000awesomethings.com I think you should. Each entry they put out makes me smile on the inside. If someone could get me the book of Awesome before I left as a going-away present, that would be pretty damn Awesome.

I’m still holding off on buying all the last-minute stuff I need until maybe Saturday. I’ll worry about socket adapters, luggage locks, and all that jazz later. For now, I’m gonna go kill me some Florentine guards in the Piazza della Signoria.

(Audio is the battle theme from FFXIII :P)

Leave a Reply

